Saturday, July 12, 2014

this just in: the worlds final one tree hill season 9 review

so i know i'm a little late to the party but i just finished watching one tree hill. 

let me tell you, man, that last season was nuts. i mean, it was crazy. i mean, what the hell was that? towards the end of that season, i think the only reason i was watching was because of my OCD, and i just had to finish it. the basketball mafia and vigilantes and things magically turning out fine.. 

but one thing about that show was, the music was always so good. for instance, 
and Gavin Degraw performed one of the most memorable theme songs from a tv show of our time. how many hours of our teen-years did we spend with that song stuck in our head, and hummed it at the most random moments! 

but seriously, what the hell was going on in season 9? it has had a few cringe worthy moments before but that whole season made me want to roll my eyes. 

Let me begin with the Mouth&Millie In The Morning show where every character they introduced was a "good friend". Did all the interesting things that happened in that town happen to just one group of people? 

What happened to the rest of tree hill? it surely couldn't have exclusively been populated by the NBA star, the fashion designer, the super star musician who choses a cafe over the dream that most people would kill for, the actress, the author, the music producer, the sports announcer, the assistant turned bitchy super model turned crack addict -normal person - talk show host, the small town - big time Hollywood director etc etc etc. you get the picture? Everyone else that lives in Tree Hill probably never got anywhere in life because they spent so much time gossiping about the drama that went on in the lives of the people in this one clique. 

OR -theory #2- they were all killed by the number of crazy people that are allowed to walk around Tree Hill so freely. From that psycho nanny who kidnapped the kid to the psycho dead-wife-doppelganger-killer to dan who killed his brother in cold blood to xavier who killed a kid and wasn't even convicted not to mention the Serbian-basketball-mob king pin who wanted to kill nathan over a basketball player. and if that's not bad enough, its sad how the characters have to take these crazy people on by themselves because the police can't be trusted or is highly incompetent as we saw when Lucas had to shoot Dan, nathan had to shoot the mob guy, i can't remember who shot the nanny, quinn had to shoot the psycho killer that came after her and the crazy owner of the cafe next door woman had to taze xavier and save brooke. and how are the characters themselves not crazy or in prison because as you might remember when we studied defenses for homicide for our LL.B. and most of these incidents had a certain amount of pre-meditated-ness (i'm sorry, this is so lame that i can't even be bothered thinking of words right now) to them.. i mean, i think they take for granted how difficult it might be to prove a total loss of control or self defense in cases like that? 

but i don't mean to hate on OTH. it was a fun show.. it was one of those things we watched when we were kids and even though sometimes i like to act like we grew up reading meaningful books and contemplating on the vastness of the universe and trying to answer big questions like, why are we here, we were just regular kids doing regular kid stuff and this show was a huge part of that, and of us growing up and being normal teenagers and it can still take us back when we find ourselves missing being that age (even though it's not a huge ask because i dont think i've "grown up" that much since then anyway).

so here's to Tree Hill - home of the Ravens, Tric - the club with the best music ever and here's to all the things that remind us of the kids that we were and just like Brooke, may we all find the things those kids once wished for without even knowing it so that when we look back, this crazy life will all make sense. 

goodbye One Tree Hill, you weirdo! 

No comments:

Post a Comment